Pemberton double

The stats: 31 miles in 4:58

The story: Got up at 4 and was on the trail by 5:15. I decided to again run pretty conservatively and shoot for 2 2:30 laps. First lap was uneventful. I ate a gel and took 2 salt tabs ever 45 minutes. Toward the end of the lap I could feel a blister starting to form on the bottom of my right foot. Finished the first lap in 2:29. I filled up my one empty handheld and took a potty break than off I went for the second loop. During the second loop, I felt awesome. It was clear I had energy to burn and I decided to pick up the pace. About 6 miles into the second loop I noticed I had finished one handheld and only had about a quarter left in the other one. I still had 9 miles left and it was getting hot. I ran for another 2 miles, then decided to take a gel and drink the rest of my water. 7 miles to go. I did OK for the next 4 miles, then started to suffer. At one point, I licked the top of my mouth and my tongue felt like sandpaper. When I finished my second loop, the left part of mouth was sealed shut and I had salt rings around my eyes. I must have drunk 2 gallons of water from the water fountain before leaving. In the end, despite all this suffering, I still got my even split. But my second lap should have been 2:15 or better. And more than that, this run should have left me super confident instead of just happy to have survived. 15-miler tomorrow. Off on Tuesday.

Weekly mileage counter: 91 Days until 100K run: 12 Days until 100 mile race: 40

2 thoughts on “Pemberton double

Leave a comment