More stomach issues

The stats: 15 miles in 2:09

The  story: After yesterday’s run, I really just wanted to take it easy tonight. That’s what I did, but that didn’t stop my stomach from doing flips the entire way. I felt bloated and heavy and couldn’t eat any gels. A couple of times I was on the verge of making an emergency “pit stop,” but luckily that never happened.  I have no choice but to alter my eating plans for the Javelina Jundred. I can’t trust that my stomach will cooperate. My new plan is to get most of my calories from sports drinks and to try to eat a gel every hour. Although at this point I think one an hour is pretty optimistic. 15 miles tomorrow.

Weekly mileage: 45 Days until 100k:Days until 100 miler: 35

One thought on “More stomach issues

  1. Good luck with eating; that seems to be my biggest problem with these failed 100 attempts I’ve had (Buckeye 100 and last years JJ100). Some reason I just don’t feel like eating and nothing really tastes good; then it is too late. I’ll be pulling for you on the JJ100; maybe together we can eat some turkey sandwiches or something even if we don’t want too. Will you be out there this weekend to run through the night? Good luck with everything and enjoy the journey….it is more than half the fun!

Leave a comment